Home> About Us > Talents > Academicians

Wu Jianping


Wu Jianping is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Technology at Tsinghua University and a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. Dr. Wu was born in 1953 in Taiyuan in Shanxi Province, and received a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from the Department of Electrical Engineering of Tsinghua University in 1977. He earned his master's and doctor's degree from Tsinghua University in 1982 and 1997. 

Dr. Wu is serving as dean of the Department of Computer Science and Technology, dean of the Institute for Network Sciences and Cyberspace, and director of the Information Technology Center at Tsinghua University. Dr. Wu is also serving as a director of the Network Center and Technical Board of the China Education and Research Network(CERNET), and the director of the National Engineering Laboratory for Next Generation Internet. He is a member of the Advisory Committee of National Information Infrastructure for the Secretariat of the State Council of China, and Vice President of the Internet Society of China (ISC). He is an IEEE Fellow (2012) and also Chairman of the Asia Pacific Advanced Network (2008-2012). He was elected a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering in 2015. 

Dr. Wu has devoted himself to research in computer networks including technological research and network engineering for many years. He has led his team in an in-depth study of network design, network engineering, network core equipment development and network architecture. He was the leader in establishing the China Education and Research Network (CERNET) in 1995, and in establishing the first nationwide pure IPv6 network in 2005. Dr.Wu proposed the idea of Source Address Validation Architecture and the 4over6 transition technology from IPv4 to IPv6 which solved the key problems of the current network. 

Dr. Wu has received one second prize of the National Awards for Technological Invention, and three second prizes and one third prize of the National Award for the Advancement in Science and Technology. As the first author, he developed 4 IETF RFCsin IETF. He is the inventor or co-inventor of 20 patents, has published more than 300 academic papers, edited and co-edited eight books, and supervised more than 100 undergraduates. He was named an Outstanding Youth by the National Natural Science Foundation of China in 1998, and received the Chair Professorship Award from the Changjiang Scholars Program jointly established and sponsored by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China and Hong Kong Cheung Kong Infrastructure Holdings Limited (2000). He received the prize for Scientific and Technological Progress of the Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation in 2008 and the Jonathan B.Postel Service Award of the ISOC in 2010.